Top Goodies
online magazine

Days of week and their astrological meaning


Astrology is an ancient science. Vedic astrology is especially old. Only in written form it is more than 5,000 years old. Vedic astrology is part of all vedic sciences called Sanathana Dharma.

Today we will explain the the astrological meaning of all days of week.

As you may have heard, astrology is dealing with planets. All astrology is about planets. From the point of view of astrology, we can explain everything with the planets, because the planets are behind everything.

The weekday counting comes from Vedic Astrology and Sanathana Dharma. In ancient astrology, we operate with 7 prakaasha planets and 2 aprakaasha planets. Prakaasha means - those that reflect or emit light. Aprakaasha means opposite. As I said - we know 7 prakaasha planets - Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn. One week is 7 days.

The main planet of our Solar system is Sun (Sol). The first day of week belongs to the Sun. And yes - it is Sunday.

Which days are ruled by which planet?

Each day is ruled by the planet in the order shown below.

  1. Sunday - Sun
  2. Monday - Moon
  3. Tuesday - Mars
  4. Wednesday - Mercury
  5. Thursday - Jupiter
  6. Friday - Venus
  7. Saturday - Saturn

As you can see, the names of the days coincide with the names of the planets. If you look around for a little bit in the history of the origin of English names of weekdays, you can see that the names of the days come from the names of the planets.

If you want to make donations to a planet to improve your karma, then it is very good to do that on the day ruled by that planet.